Skip to content

The 7 Principles of Universal Design

    Creator: National Disability Authority

    Date Updated: August 23, 2022


    The National Disability Authority (NDA) is an Irish organization that works with the Irish Government on policies and practices relevant to the lives of persons with disabilities. The NDA promotes universal design and provides the 7 Principles of Universal Design to help ensure buildings, spaces, information, and products are accessible to all.

    The information is summarized from the 7 Principles of Universal Design web page.

    Quick Facts

    • The 7 Principles of Universal Design are:
      • Equitable Use: The design is useful to people with diverse abilities.
      • Flexibility in Use: The design accommodates the preferences and abilities of different people.
      • Simple and Intuitive Use: The use of design is easy to understand, regardless of the user’s experience, knowledge, language skills, or current concentration level.
      • Perceptible Information: The design communicates necessary information effectively to the user, regardless of ambient conditions or the user’s sensory abilities.
      • Tolerance for Error: The design minimizes hazards and the adverse consequences of accidental or unintended actions.
      • Low Physical Effort: The design can be used efficiently and comfortably and with minimal fatigue.
      • Size and Space for Approach and Use: Appropriate size and space are provided for approach, reach, manipulation, and use regardless of the user’s body size, posture, or mobility.

    Visit the 7 Principles of Universal Design


    National Disability Authority (1997). The 7 Principles. Web page. Retrieved from: